
Let me make something clear: I'm not anti-romance, anti-love, or even particularly anti-Valentine's Day. However, this particular holiday does, in fact, annoy me.
While most holidays became commercialized over time, Valentine's Day was basically made as a commercial holiday. And that bothers me.
Why do we feel it necessary to capitalize on people's emotions? I mean, yeah, telling someone how you feel about them can be a difficult thing to do, but I think it's sad that an entire day is set apart just for that purpose.
My opinion? If you love someone, you should tell them that every day.
Besides, Valentine's Day puts too much pressure on having to make some big to-do about relationships. Relationships are important, but, like I said, that should be celebrated every day, not just one day out of the year.
And no, this isn't the 'I hate Valentine's Day ranting' of someone who doesn't have a valentine. I've had the same valentine the past 3 years, and in high school I had the same valentine 2 years in a row, and yet Valentine's Day just fails to be a big deal for me.
Additionally, I think it's sad that, aside from being a day to flaunt your relationship, February 14th is a day essentially designed to make those without a significant other feel insignificant or worthless solely because of the fact that they're 'alone.' A person's value shouldn't depend on whether or not they're in a relationship with someone, but Valentine's Day kind of makes it seems like it does.
I don't know. All in all, it's just a bothersome holiday to me.
